Phil Nicoletti Leaves Gopher Dunes with the Red Plate

Rockstar Energy OTSFF Yamaha Riders Shawn Maffenbeier and Phil Nicoletti came into the East Coast this weekend at Gopher Dunes ready for battle. Shawn Maffenbeier pushed hard all day to come away with a 5th overall. Shawn continues to put in impressive results and salvage important points as we crest the midway point of the Rockstar Energy Triple Crown MX Series. Phil Nicoletti was able battle hard throughout the day in order to secure 2nd overall after some intense battles on the extremely rough Gopher Dunes track. Rockstar Energy OTSFF Yamaha Support Rider Sam Gaynor once again put in an impressive set of motos. Continuing to push hard, Sam was able to finish just outside the top 10 with a 14th overall at Round 4.

PC – Kate Kowalchuk

During qualifying the Rockstar Energy OTSFF Yamaha team used the freshly groomed Gopher Dunes track to their advantage to put out some impressive qualifying times. Phil would qualify in 5th spot while Shawn sat directly behind him in 6th. Sam Gaynor would qualify in 11th position.

PC – James Lissimore

First Moto saw all three Rockstar riders within the top 12 after rounding the first corner. Nicoletti rounded the first corner in 7th. Phil put his head down and started to get the flow of the rough Gopher Dunes track. After charging hard Phil was able to battle his way up to 2nd where he would firmly hold his position to the checkers. Shawn had worked his way into 5th position later in the Moto with a great ride but would ultimately crash on one of the jumps, fortunately he was able to regroup quick enough to still salvage a 6th position finish. Sam Gaynor rode hard and battled with some of the top guys, Sam would clear the checkers in 11th position for Moto 1.

PC – James Lissimore

As we approached the gate drop for 450 Moto 2 the  track had become extremely rough adding to the humid weather; however the Rockstar Energy OTSFF Yamaha team would use their experience and race craft to finish up the day strong. Moto 2 saw Sam Gaynor with an amazing start, Sam made a pass for second as he approached the finish line during lap 1. Gaynor would continue to hold his spot for a while holding off riders such as Cole Thompson and Colton Facciotti until falling back in the pack about mid way into the moto. Shawn Maffenbeier had a collision with another rider after the second turn of the moto. Having to get up and recharge his energy Shawn was able to charge hard throughout the Moto to cross the finish in 5th position. Phil would once again charge hard against his competition. After making a few hard passes Phil would find himself in 2nd where he would finish out the moto.

“We are very proud of the team. Gopher is such a demanding track for the whole    crew and they put in their best effort once again. Thank you to everyone involved with the team!”

                        – Steve Simms (Rockstar Energy OTSFF Yamaha Team Manager)

Phil Nicoletti: 2-2 for 2nd overall.                            

Shawn Maffenbeier: 6-5 for 5th overall.                  

Sam Gaynor: 11-15 for 14th overall.

Round 4 Gopher Dunes Results 450 Pro    Triple Crown 450 Pro Championship                                                                                           

                                                                                      Points Standings

            1. Mike Alessi                                                 1. Phil Nicoletti – 185

            2. Phil Nicoletti                                              2. Colton Facciotti – 185

            3. Cole Thompson                                          3. Mike Alessi- 168

            4. Colton Facciotti                                           4. Cole Thompson – 160

            5. Shawn Maffenbeier                                  5. Shawn Maffenbeier – 146

            6. Tristan Lane                                                6. Cade Clason – 124

            7.Liam O’Farrell                                             7. Ryan Dowd – 112

            8. Bobby Piazza                                              8. Matt Georke – 106

            9. Cade Clason                                               9. Dakota Alix – 104

            10. Ryan Dowd                                               10. Keylan Meston – 97

                                                                                   11. Sam Gaynor – 73

Scroll to Top